Robert Schneider/ Caatskill Views

Robert Schneider- Autumn View from Noorth Mountain

Hi, I have been working on some large, for me, paintings of the Catskills for an exhibit I have had in the back of my mind for years. I was thinking of calling it something like “A Trip to the Catskills” or “Catskill Mountains Revisited”…haven’t landed on a title yet. I have three paintings done and another two in the works. I have included images but these are still in progress…as is everything I have until it leaves my studio permanently!

Robert Schneider- The Old Mountain House Road

They are, “Autumn View from North Mountain” 40 X 60 ” . This is a favorite subject of mine and I have done many versions of this view. “Kaaterskill Falls” 72 X 48″ another favorite but I have never attempted anything so large of this view and I have done more paintings from the top of this waterfall than the bottom, and “The Old Mountain House Road” 48 X 36″ This once famous mountain road was the only rout to the Catskill Mountain House for the better part of a century.

I am working on a 40 X 60 of the view from Pine Orchard, the Mountain House site and another sunrise view of the Kaaterskill Clove in a large square format. I know that I run the risk of looking like a Hudson River School wannabe but it was these painting and painters that originally drew me into painting myself…so perhaps it’s a bit of an “Homage”. I attached images and ┬áhope your bloggers find this project interesting.

Bob Schneider

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

