A Brief Moment in Time

I am privileged to be doing a photo essay of the rebuilding of Sorge’s restaurant here in Corning. One day, just after the second floor decking was laid, I made my first foray up there and took a photo, looking from the back of the building toward Market Street, of a windowless window, with a tree prominently filling its frame.

I was attracted by the moment in time, where the unfiltered view through the window would last but days more, before the new glass went in, never to be seen again in the same way. The rawness of the frame and the unglazed tree would likely never be the same, at least in the measure of time we humans use. In the frozen moment change was the context, with which I identified personally. This photo and painting helped me pause and reflect on the change I’ve experienced in the last year. In it’s sum that change has been magical, but perhaps the better word is mystical. I hope the painting captures that swirling and awe-filled dynamism in a simple and respectful way.

– posted by Bill Boland

Leave a Reply

