The Lake Effect

Posted by Tom Gardner

Well, there it is, I finally finished and delivered the show to West End Gallery,  whew !!     sorry I haven’t written anything here to keep you up with what I was doing, but I guess I have tunnel vision, I can concentrate on one thing at a time, like most men, and nothing else. 

 The invitation image and several of the paintings for the show were of the stone house that Paul Masson ( of Orson Wells fame….”we will sell no wine before it’s time”).   I thought I would put a twist on the term “lake effect” and see how the lakes do effect the mood we feel ,as opposed to how they effect the weather. I’ve been told that the lakes change every day. If you live there and pay attention, they never are the same from day to day. Well, not living there, I have to settle for a little broader view of that concept.  I can see the change from season to season, or from morning to night, but I’m seldom there 2 or 3 days in a row, to witness the finer changes. But I wonder, when I think of Paul Masson living in this house, what was it exactly that inspired him to decide to go to California, Napa Valley to be exact,  and start the wine industry there. I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that he hated the harsh winters, and the promise of warm California winters were enough to convince him.  Or it may have been the thought of working for himself as opposed to working for great Western of Taylor wine companies.  

 I often think of the image Eric Sloan painted, “September”.  The image  is that of a rocking chair on the front porch of a lakeside cottage, leaning backwards against the  wall, retired for the season, with autumn colors in the trees.  I mean , it is the proverbial, “the prom is over and everyone has left, except me.”  Summer is spent and winter is getting ready to slam down on the land. To me, that feeling is what the lake effect is really all about.  

   I followed Gary Myers’ lead and published a small book to go with the show. The cover is the same image as the invitations with about 20 additional images. Boy, its so easy now. In the “old days”, it would have meant a major financial commitment to mount such an effort.  Thanks  Gary.

Leave a Reply

