The Passing of a Great Painter and Friend

It is with the greatest sorrow that we learned of the death of Tom Buechner yesterday, Sunday June 13, 2010.  Tom has been, through his immense talent and personality,  a beacon of inspiration for a generation of painters and was one of the greatest friends of  Linda and the West End Gallery.  He is already sorely missed.

Tom Buechner in his studio

 Funeral arrangements are incomplete at this time.  We will have  more on Tom’s life and work in the future on this blog and invite anyone who knew Tom to share a remembrance with us.

4 Responses to The Passing of a Great Painter and Friend

  1. redtreetimes says:

    I didn’t know Tom well at all, far less than most of the painters who painted with and learned from him. But his passion for art and his willingness to help the gallery and the local art community are well known to many. One of the highlights of showing my work at the West End came a few years ago when Tom showed up unexpectedly at my opening and gave me a few moments of exuberant praise. It came out of the blue and left me giddy that he had even noticed my work at all. It is a memory I hold very tightly.—–Gary Myers

  2. colin pritchard says:

    I used to paint with Tom on Sundays and I learned more there in 5 minutes than I did in 20 years of reading and painting on my own. He was a great teacher and all around good dude. He will be sorely missed.

  3. Jodi King says:

    I knew of Tom’s work LONG before I was ever privileged to study a very brief week with him. I thoroughly enjoyed that week and ended up buying a Buechner painting that I will always treasure! I really loved his sense of humor and his willingness to show us his Rembrandt etchings and all the wonderful art he had around the home. I know the lovely Mary shall miss his terribly. I know I shall miss Tom AND his crow!

  4. Parnilla Carpenter says:

    I was very sorry to hear of the loss of Tom Buechner.
    My sympathies go out to his family and friends.
    I didn’t know him personally, but I did know his work.
    He had mastered the techniques of many artists past and in his own way brought them forth to the artists of today and tomorrow. Many thanks Tom for sharing with us your talent. Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

