Getting to Know– Bill Fidler

Reality Check-- William Fidler

Bill Fidler is one of the newer artists at the West End Gallery, having started exhibiting his realistic charcoal/ graphite drawings here in the summer of 2010.  As part of a new series on this blog, Bill has agreed to answer a few questions so that you may better know the person behind the work.

****************************

When did you start drawing?      I’ve always had an interest in art and have done little things for people over the years.   I had other interest at the time which put art on the back shelf.  Probably about 2004 is when I started doing more in art and it snowballed from there.  I guess getting older had something to do with that.  Here I had this talent and wasn’t doing anything with it.  I decided I better do something before it is too late.

What artist or artist do you consider as influence on your work?      JD Hillberry,  Armin Mersmann

 What was the best advice you ever received that has helped you with your art?     I had an Art professor, who is also a West End Gallery artist, who gave me a lot of encouragement.  Another artist there told me to “hang in there.”  Their confidence in me helped a great deal. 

If you could only pass along one piece of advice to a young artist, what would that be?    Practice, practice, practice.  Just like anything else.

Do you listen to music when you work?  I usually listen to a Smooth Jazz radio station.

Favorite book?  “A Painted House” (John Grisham)

Favorite movie?    Not surprisingly I got hooked on old black and white movies at an early age.  I don’t know if that has something to do with the graphite/charcoal medium I like to work in or not.  If a Bogart movie is on the TV I will usually watch it even if I have watched many times.

Thanks, Bill! 

The Privy-- William Fidler

 

Bed and Breakfast-- William Fidler

One Response to Getting to Know– Bill Fidler

  1. Thank you for sharing, Bill. This is a great way to get to know the Gallery artists better. I hope you attend the openings so people can meet you in real-live, non-virtual person!

Leave a Reply

