Brian Hart / Bridget Bossart van Otterloo Exhibit Opening Friday

The new exhibit featuring new paintings from Brian Hart and Bridget Bossart van Otterloo opens this Friday, September 9 , at the West End Gallery.  This is a highly anticipated show and the gallery looks great with their new work hanging.  The opening reception for this show runs from 5-7:30 PM Friday and features music from the Mangione Gordon Duo.  In the Upstairs Showcase there is an exhibit titled Windows that shows work from a variety of gallery artists, each featuring windows in some way. 

Below is the statement for this exhibit from artist Brian Hart:

That past year’s show has been in the works for more than a year. I’d like to revisit a few of the moments that were a lot of fun and some moments that I found somewhat more challenging.

I really enjoyed gathering images for the show in the form of digital photos. I believe a representational artist’s work is only as good as his references and I strive to find interesting landscapes, figures and atmospheric conditions that are beautiful and dramatic. I love driving the country roads around our lakes, looking for a new angle on a winery or finding a new landmark such as the Esperanza Mansion. I need to confess, though, that occasionally the artist within me compels me to sneak past a posted sign that may get in the way of a great painting. 

I paint in my home studio, and as I get older I’m finding it’s harder to find the solitude I need to do my best work. I have a five-year-old daughter and seven-year-old son and I have learned that I paint my best when they are asleep or out of the house. I think it’s a careful balancing act that an artist faces between the social isolation that the act of painting requires and spending time with friends and family, which most of us need. Although there were times when I really wanted to paint obsessively, a good balance was forced on me and it worked. 

I’m really happy with the results of this year’s show and feel that it is perhaps my best and most diverse show at West End Gallery.

Please stop in and see this great show at the West End Gallery!

 

Leave a Reply

