Bridget Bossart van Otterloo

Tomorrow night, Friday,  is the opening for the new Bridget Bossart van Otterloo and Brian Hart exhibit at the West End Gallery.  It’s an exciting and beautiful new group of work from each and we’re expecting a great turnout at the gallery.  Both artists will be attendance at the opening reception which runs 5-7:30 PM and is open to the public.  There will be refreshments and music from the Mangione Gordon Duo.  This reception is sponsored by Christopher G. Quinlan.

The piece shown here, Hope of Spring, is from Bridget Bossart van Otterloo and is part of the exhibit.  Below is her statement for the show:

I try to connect people with nature through my artwork. When painting, I try to represent nature accurately, but also from my own viewpoint and with my own impression. I usually start a painting by observing from life, with the subject in front of me. I prefer to work from life for as long as possible in an effort to capture the true essence of my subjects. I use oil paints in thin transparent layers; this technique allows light to pass through and bounce off different layers of paint creating a luminous glow. When I use gold or silver leaf in my paintings, it flattens the background space and makes the subject more iconic. The value relationships in the painting also change when the reflective metal leaf is added, and they continue to change depending on the light source and time of day.

My work has been influenced by the Old Masters—Italian and Spanish still life painters, and Dutch flower painters. The daily inspiration for my artwork comes from nature—as Albrecht Durer said, “Art is embedded in nature; he who can extract it, has it.”

Leave a Reply

