Moment Sublime/ GC Myers

This Friday, July 26th, the West End Gallery will be hosting the opening reception for the annual show, this year titled Islander,  from artist GC Myers.  This is the eleventh year for his show here and it is always a highly anticipated event for our summer season.  The reception runs this Friday from 5-7:30 PM at the gallery and has refreshments and music from guitarist William Groome.  This is a great looking show so make your plans to get into the West End to see it.

One of the paintings from the show, Moment Sublime, shown here,  was the subject of one of the artist’s recent entries on his blog, Redtreetimes.  Here’s what he wrote:

GC Myers- Moment Sublime

GC Myers- Moment Sublime

I delivered my work yesterday to the West End Gallery for this year’s solo exhibit, Islander.  The show, which hangs in the Corning gallery from July 26th until August 30, is something like my 37th or 38th solo show at different galleries around the country so there are common experiences with each that you begin to notice.  One is definitely the sense of relief that comes with delivering the show.

The work is done, everything framed and photographed, and in the gallery.  Seemingly , my job is done.  That’s not exactly true as there is always an aspect of the job that lingers after the work leaves the studio such as writing this and doing other promotional things that are required in order to spread the word about my work.  But for the most part, my work is done and I can step back to take a deep breath.

I generally notice a sense of exhaustion that sets in immediately after delivery, as though the tension of meeting a deadline has been a distraction from the tiredness that has been creeping in.  It’s a good exhaustion though, one that comes with knowing that I am totally satisfied with the work that I have done and have put in it as much as I could.

It’s a feeling much like the one I see in the painting featured above, Moment Sublime, a 9″ by 14″ painting on paper that is part of the show.  I suppose that is why I chose it for today’s post.  There is that same real sense of satisfaction in this image, a peaceful feeling of being only in the moment.  For me, after delivering the show, this means having no regrets about the work I have done and not concerning myself in that moment about the future results of the show or what comes next.

The task is done.  I am very happy with what I have done, feeling that it truthfully represents who I am at this moment.  All that I could ask.  In that instant, I am that Red Tree and the moment is indeed sublime…

 

Leave a Reply

